Home > Česky | English | Deutsch

Was born in the town of Brno, the Czech Republic. After graduating from high school, she prepared for a career as a professional singer by studying with Professor Rohan at the Conservatory in Prague.During her studies,she collaborated with the Music Theatre in Karlin /a discrit in Prague/, where she created the main roles in Rudolph Friml´s operettas "Spanish Spy" and "The Vagabond King".

In 1972, Zora JEHLICKOVA won first prize at Dusek´s Competition of Young Musicians in Prague. In 1977, she received the bronze medal at the International Competition in Geneva - Switzerland. She studied with Maestro Campogalliani at master classes in Siena - Italy. She prepared her new roles with Professors Z.Zikova, M.Fischer-Kupfer and L.Dvorakova.

After a successful audition in 1973, Z. JEHLICKOVA was engaged by the National Theatre in Prague and made her debut as Natasha Rostowa in Prokofiev´s opera "War and Peace". Later, she created over 4O main opera roles, among others, in Dvorak´s "Rusalka" and "Armida", Smetana´s "The Bartered Bride", "The Secret","The Two Widows", Puccini´s "Manon Lescaut", "Madama Butterfly", Mimi in "La Boheme", the main roles in Verdi´s "Il Trovatore", "Otelo", "A Masked Ball", Tatiana and Elise in Tchaikovski´s "Eugene Onegin" and "The Queen of Spades", Pamina in Mozart´s"The Magic Flute"Fiordiligi in "Cosi fan Tutte", Dona Anna in "Don Giovanni",Countess in "The Marriage of Figaro", Janacek´s "Katya Kabanova", Martinů´s "Julietta", Irena in Wagner´s Rienzi, Elsa in "Lohengrin" and Elisabeth in "Tannhäuser".

Zora JEHLICKOVA has toured throughout Germany - Berlin: Komische Oper and State Opera; Dresden:Semperoper; Mannheim; Hannover. She has performed at La Scala in Stravinski´s "Mavra" and Puccini´s "Gianni Schcchi". She has sung at festivals in Paris, Wiesbaden, Ludwigsburg, Würzburg, Edinburg, Trieste and Savonlinna - Finland. She has also participated as a soloist in oratorios in rance, Austria/Salzburg, Netherlands, Switzerland, Finland, Lithuania, Rumania, Bulgaria, the former Yugoslavia and Japan.